The newest member of the Poker Hall of Fame will be announced on July 14.

LAS VEGAS (June 5, 2024) – With the 55th annual World Series of Poker (WSOP®) officially underway, nominations for the 2024 Poker Hall of Fame are now open. Poker players and fans can submit a nominee here and must include a brief explanation for their choice.

“With the poker world losing original participants of the 1970 WSOP in the last two years, it’s more important than ever to celebrate the history of the game,” said Ty Stewart, Executive Director of the World Series of Poker. “The Poker Hall of Fame is meant to make sure legends who paved the way for today’s record-setting fields are never forgotten, and we thank poker fans for their help putting forth worthy candidates during the nomination process.”

Nominations will remain open through Sunday, June 16 when all submissions will be tabulated, and the top 10 nominations reviewed by the Poker Hall of Fame Governing Council. The existing Poker Hall of Fame members will then cast votes on the final list of nominees to determine the 2024 inductee.

The 2024 Poker Hall of Fame nominee will be announced on July 14, 2024. The inductee will receive a plaque to be displayed at the World Series of Poker Hall of Fame Poker Room, which opened at Horseshoe Las Vegas in 2023.

The Poker Hall of Fame criteria are as follows:

  • Must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
  • Be a minimum of 40-years-old at time of nomination
  • Played for high stakes, consistently well, and stood the test of time
  • For non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results

Those enshrined in the Poker Hall of Fame include:

  • Nick Dandolos ’79
  • James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickock ’79
  • Edmond Hoyle ’79
  • Felton McCorduodale ’79
  • Johnny Moss ’79
  • Red Winn ‘79
  • Sid Wyman ‘79
  • T “Blondie” Forbes ’80
  • Bill Boyd ’81
  • Tom Abdo ’82        
  • Joe Bernstein ’83
  • Murph Harrold ’84
  • Red Hodges ’85
  • Henry Green ’86
  • Walter “Puggy” Pearson ‘87
  • Doyle Brunson ’88
  • Jack “Treetop” Straus ‘88
  • Fred “Sarge” Ferris ’89
  • Benny Binion ’90
  • David “Chip” Reese ‘91
  • Thomas Austin Preston ‘92
  • Jack Keller ’93       
  • Julius Oral Popwell ‘96
  • Roger Moore ’97
  • Stu “The Kid” Ungar ‘01
  • Lyle Berman ’02
  • Johnny Chan ’02
  • Bobby Baldwin ‘03
  • Berry Johnston ’04
  • Crandell Addington ’05
  • Billy Baxter ’06
  • T.J. Cloutier ’06
  • Barbara Enright ’07
  • Phil Hellmuth ’07
  • Henry Orenstein ‘08
  • Duane “Dewey” Tomko ‘08
  • Mike Sexton ‘09
  • Dan Harrington ‘10
  • David Oppenheim ‘10
  • Erik Seidel ‘10
  • Linda Johnson ’11
  • Eric Drache ’12
  • Brian “Sailor” Roberts ‘12
  • Tom McEvoy ’13
  • Scotty Nguyen ‘13
  • Jack McClelland ‘14
  • Daniel Negreanu ‘14
  • Jennifer Harman ‘15
  • John Juanda ’15
  • Todd Brunson ’16
  • Carlos Mortensen ’16
  • Phil Ivey ’17
  • David “Devilfish” Ulliott ‘17
  • Mori Eskandani ’18
  • John Hennigan ’18
  • Chris Moneymaker ’19
  • Huck Seed ‘20
  • Eli Elezra ‘21
  • Layne Flack ’22     
  • Brian Rast ‘23                 

 For more information on the Poker Hall of Fame, visit http://www.wsop.com/pokerhalloffame/.




About The Poker Hall of Fame:

The Poker Hall of Fame, established in 1979, was acquired by Harrah’s Entertainment along with the World Series of Poker in 2004.  Though the Hall of Fame is virtual in nature, its membership includes poker's most influential players and other important contributors to the game. There are now 32 living members, and 59 members have been bestowed the honor of Poker Hall of Famer.  The Poker Hall of Fame traditionally elects one or two members annually.  The enshrinement ceremony is now held in concert with the final table of the Main Event of the WSOP, held in Las Vegas.

About the World Series of Poker
Part of Caesars Entertainment's Caesars Digital operations, the World Series of Poker® is the largest, richest and most prestigious gaming event in the world, having awarded more than $4 billion in prize money and the prestigious gold bracelet, globally recognized as the sport's top prize. Featuring a comprehensive slate of tournaments in every major poker variation, the WSOP is poker's longest-running tournament in the world, dating back to 1970. In 2023, the event attracted 214,641 entrants from more than 114 different countries to the Paris Las Vegas and Horseshoe Las Vegas and awarded more than $403 million in prize money. In addition, the WSOP has formed groundbreaking alliances in broadcasting, digital media and corporate sponsorships, while successfully expanding the brand internationally with the advent of WSOP Europe in 2007, WSOP Asia-Pacific in 2013, WSOP International Circuit Series in 2015 and WSOP Paradise at Atlantis Paradise Island in 2023. All WSOP events are subject to the then-current and applicable WSOP tournament rules. For more information, please visit www.wsop.com.


Dominic Holden (dholden@caesars.com)

Brad Harwood (bharwood@caesars.com)

WSOP (wsopmedia@gmail.com