The highly-anticipated World Series of Poker Tournament of Champions All-Star Event is finally upon us.
After months of voting, anticipation and excitement, the field of 27 players vying for a $1 million prize pool and the title of poker's 2010 All-Star, is a Who's Who list of poker superstars.
Folks are encouraged to come down to the Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino and head to the Amazon Ballroom in the Rio Convention Center to view the action live and in-person.  The tournament kicks off at 12 noon and will play 4 levels, which will last until 4:00 PM PT.  Seating is on a first-come, first-serve basis, and is open to anyone aged 21 or older.
ESPN is on the scene to film the TOC for broadcast in August, so by attending in person, you may end up as part of the show!

For those that cannot attend in person.  Don't fret.  ESPN3, ESPN's video web home, will be streaming the Tournament of Champions live.  Streaming will go from 3-7 PM ET, or 12 noon to 4 PM Las Vegas time. You can go to the top of the homepage and click on the ESPN3 logo, and it will zap you right to the page to watch the live stream.  Enjoy!
The list of names in the field are below.  Stay tuned to for all the action, live updates, chip counts and images if you can't watch the live stream.
Andrew Barton may be the only name you don't recognize on this list.  He is here living out a dream come true.  He qualified for this tournament as a special UK sponsor exemption.  He hails from Birmingham, England.  He has never been to Las Vegas before, and he now takes his seat among 26 poker legends, with a chance to dethrone them and capture his share of the $1 million prize pool.
The WSOP Tournament of Champions was started by the WSOP in 2004, after Harrah’s took ownership of the World Series of Poker brand.  In the inaugural event, ten top names were invited to participate in the freeroll event structured as a winner-take-all.  Duke won the event at the Rio.

In 2005, the TOC was won by Matusow at Caesars Palace, with an expanded field of 114 entrants competing in the freeroll, with the top nine places cashing.

The TOC event last took place in 2006 at the Rio, when 27 of the games greatest took to the felt in the freeroll, with the final table all walking away with prize money and 2009 Poker Hall of Fame inductee Sexton walking away with the top prize.

This year’s TOC will be a No Limit Texas Hold’em tournament with the top nine places being paid.  First place will win $500,000, the runner-up gets $250,000, third place earns $100,000 and the fourth through ninth place pockets $25,000 each.