The Main Event began Friday at the Planet Hollywood Circuit.

There were a total of 551 entries, and 93 bagged up chips to advance to Day 2. The leader after Day 1A is Maurice Hawkins, who finished with 345,000.

Also advancing are former WSOP Main Event champion Carlos Mortensen (pictured), Dutch Boyd, Jake Schindler, Dan Heimiller, Cord Garcia, and Charles "Woody" Moore. Click here for Full Chip Counts from Day 1A.

Saturday will be Day 1B of the Main Event.

  • The Main Event features a $1,500,000 guaranteed prize pool.
  • This is a re-entry event, and players may enter up to twice on each starting day (maximum four bullets total).
  • Day 1 is scheduled for 15 levels.
    • This is a change from the original schedule
  • Late registration and re-entry are open until the start of Level 13.
  • Players start with 20,000 in chips.
  • Blinds start at 25/50
  • There will be a 20-minute break after each 2 hours of play.
  • There is no dinner break on Day 1.


    There was one other event in play on Friday. Event #12: $365 No-Limit Hold'em, started on Thursday, and nine players returned Friday for Day 2. When the dust settled, the winner was Cory Waaland, who earned $21,571 and his sixth career Circuit ring. He is now tied for fourth on the all-time list.

    Click here for Full Results.


    With seven events complete, the current leader in the Casino Champion race is Jon Lactaoen, with 70 points. Lactaoen has three cashes, including two final tables, so far here at Planet Hollywood.

    Click the button below for a full Casino Champion leaderboard.


    A Look Back:

    Here are winners from ring events so far:

    • Brandon West won $580 No-Limit Hold'em Re-entry for $106,030
    • Jason Schwartz won $365 No-Limit Hold'em for $12,095
    • AJ Thompson won $365 No-Limit Hold'em Turbo for $10,866
    • Rick Austin won $365 No-Limit Hold'em for $19,875
    • Jim Juvancic won $365 Pot-Limit Omaha for $10,801
    • Brian Shugart won $580 No-Limit Hold'em for $27,253
    • Venkataramana Ganne won $365 Monster Stack No-Limit Hold'em for $38,874.
    • Cory Waaland won $365 No-Limit Hold'em for $21,571.