Day 2 resumes Sunday at noon CT with 93 players remaining and a $147K first prize on the line.

Tunica, Miss. (January 31, 2015) — The World Series of Poker Circuit Main Event at Horseshoe Casino in Tunica, Miss. began Friday with the first of two starting flights. Action continued Saturday with the second, and in all the $1,675 series finale drew 457 entries generating a $685,500 prize pool. Following two days and 15 levels of play, just 93 players remain with chip leader Devon Ballard holding 349,000 chips.

Ballard, who hails from Little Rock, Ark. is out in front of an uber-talented field that includes seven-time ring winner Ari Engel. Engel transformed his 20,000-chip starting stack into 216,000 and sits fourth in the counts just behind Ryan Tepen who claims 237,000. Others joining the headliners at the top for Day 2 include Nathan Bjerno (158,000), two-time ring winner Tripp Kirk (157,500), Casino Championship points leader Scott Stewart (157,000), Russ Head (147,000), three-time ring winner John Holley (124,500), Brandon Newsome (123,000), bracelet winner Kyle Cartwright (63,500) and Jason Mayfield (47,000).
Full chip counts are available on

Of the above players, Tepen, Bjerno, Stewart, Head, Holley and Mayfield each exercised their option to re-enter and made the most of their second bullet.

While each Day 2 participant is chomping at the bit for their opportunity to score a six-figure prize and a berth in the National Championship, others are relegated to watching from the rail. Those unable to play their way to a Day 2 berth include bracelet winners Jonathan Taylor and Tom Franklin, Chris Conrad, Josh Evans, Alex Greenblatt, BJ McBrayer, Paul Mattioda and Aaron Frei.

Day 2 resumes Sunday at noon CT with blinds of 1,500/3,000 and a 5,000 ante. Just the top 54 players finish in the money with the tournament’s champion earning $147,388, a berth in the National Championship and a Circuit gold ring.

Top 10 Day 2 chip counts:

1. Devon Ballard - 349,000
2. Eric Branum - 279,500
3. Ryan Tepen - 237,000
4. Ari Engel - 216,000
5. Keith Murrell - 208,000
6. Mike Postle - 201,500
7. Gregg Merkow - 183,500
8. Jay Bishop - 179,500
9. John Adams - 179,000
10. Happy Nakhoneinh - 176,500

Updates throughout each day of play will be available right here on