Following two days of play, the preliminary flights of the World Series of Poker Circuit Main Event at Horseshoe Casino in Council Bluffs, Iowa have officially come to a close. Leading the way heading into Day 2 is Kelly Vandemheen who will lead the 81 advancing players with 146,200.

While Vandemheen bagged the overall chip lead, Day 1A leader and three-time ring winner Josh Reichard is hot on his heels with 143,700.

Also returning to the felt for Day 2 is none other than 2011 WSOP bracelet winner Eric Rodawig (pictured), who famously denied Phil Hellmuth a bracelet during heads up play. Rodawig, who has over $542,000 in live tournament earnings, came into the day likely to be a tournament force and his performance did not disappoint. He built up a sizable stack early and was truly able to bloom during the later levels of the day. In the last level, Rodawig tangled with two-time defending champion Blair Hinkle in a hand that saw the latter's demise. Hinkle, unable to gain momentum throughout most of the day, called all in with king-ten against Rodawig's ace-nine. An ace-high flop spelled disaster for the reigning champion and he was sent to the rail. Day 1B, however, was Hinkle's first bullet. With roughly 20 minutes left in the day, Hinkle bought back in and managed to build his 20,000 starting stack to a final total of 41,200. This means that Hinkle will return for a second chance at winning this event for the fourth time in six years.

Day 1A was the smaller of the two starting flights with a total of 105 entries. Day 1B saw an increase in numbers with 128 total entries. This allows for a grand total of 233 heading into Day 2. This number is likely to increase by a few digits, however, as registration remains open until the start of Day 2.

Both starting flights included a handful of familiar faces to advance to Day 2. Some of the notable players to advance from Day 1A include Chris Karambinis (134,000), Nicholas Palma (100,000), Jesse Wilke (82,900), seven-time ring winner Ari Engel (65,700), Zal Irani (57,900), Jason Mayfield (47,400), and Nathan Bjerno (44,500).

Day 1B also had several notable players to advance. Players who will return for Day 2 include ring winner Michael Sanders (129,000), Glen Goldsmith (116,100), 2011 Council Bluffs Main Event champion Scott Stanko (102,300), all-time ring leader Alex Masek (44,700), and Josh Mancuso (30,500).

Both starting flights combine on Sunday where the final 81 players will join up with any late entrants who register before noon. Play will resume with blinds at 800/1,600 with an ante of 200. Play is expected to reach a final table.

Live updates from the Horseshoe Council Bluffs Main Event are available on

Here's a look at the Top 10 chip counts heading into Day 2:

1. Kelly Vandemheen - 146,200
2. Josh Reichard - 143,700
3. Chris Karambinis - 134,000
4. Michael Sanders - 129,000
5. Eric Rodawig - 122,000
6. Della Jones - 119,200
7. Glen Goldsmith - 116,100
8. Cash Carpenter - 112,600
9. Greg Jennings - 105,200
10. Scott Stanko - 102,300

Full chip counts are available on