The World Series of Poker Main Event at the Horseshoe Southern Indiana attracted a record-breaking field. On Friday, 167 players entered Day 1A, and an additional 191 entered Day 1B on Saturday. The 358 entries represents an increase of almost 20% over last year’s turnout. In fact, 358 entries is an all-time record for WSOP Circuit Main Events held at this venue. The previous record was 340, set in 2012.

The chip leader heading into Day 2 is Joseph Royer, who amassed 238,900 chips on Day 1A. He’s followed by Dimas Martinez (218,300), Everett Lawrence (168,300), and Jean “Prince” Gaspard (160,600). No one else is above 150,000 in chips. A total of 116 players advance to Day 2 -- 52 from flight 1A and 64 from flight 1B.

Several big names crowded their way into the field and survived to make Day 2. They include Peter Jetten (57,300), and WSOP Bracelet winners Aaron Steury (108,200), Robert Cheung (67,200), Keven “Stammdogg” Stammen (38,000), and Jonathan Taylor (18,600).

Among the notable players who failed to advance are Ravi Raghavan and James Duke. Duke finished in third place in the Millionaire Maker event at the WSOP this past summer.

Some of the most successful players in WSOP Circuit history were in attendance. Mark “Pegasus” Smith and Kurt Jewell, both 5-time ring winners, entered the event. Jewell was eliminated, but Smith will return for Day 2 with 8,000 in chips. He’ll be joined by Doug “Rico” Carli, who has two rings and owns the record for most career Circuit cashes with 87. Yossi Azulan, the Circuit points leader for the 2013-2014 season, also played, but failed to make it to Day 2.

At times, this tournament looked like a contest to see who could be the first player to win the Main Event here twice. Three of the past four winners were in the field. Charles “Woody” Moore (2010 champion) and Robert Castoire (2011 champion) advance to Day 2. Zal Irani (2013 champion) was eliminated in with just about 20 minutes to play on Day 1B. The only recent Main Event winner absent from the event is Dan Heimiller, who is plying his trade in Melbourne at WSOP Asia-Pacific.

The other competition in focus today is the Casino Champion race, which is still wide open. Andrew Robinson currently leads with 65 points. He made it through Day 1B with 21,200 chips. Tim McCarthy is in 2nd place with 62.5 points. He survived Day 1A with 81,200. Woody Moore and Brad Albrinck are tied for third with 60 points. Moore earned his third career Circuit ring yesterday, and he also returns for Day 2 (73,000 in chips). Albrinck was eliminated.

Day 2 begins Sunday at noon. Here are the top ten chip counts. Full chip counts and seating assignments are available on

1. Joseph Royer – 238,900
2. Dimas Martinez – 218,300
3. Everett Lawrence – 168,300
4. Jean “Prince” Gaspard – 160,600
5. T. Williams – 147,400
6. Clinton Keown – 143,800
7. Kenny Smith – 123,800
8. Miles Reinhard – 122,700
9. Scott Wright – 111,800
10. Emad Alabst – 110,300