Jeff Madsen won his third gold bracelet in Event 35, a $3,000 Pot-Limit Omaha tournament, early Saturday morning at the Rio All-Suite Hotel and Casino. Madsen is best known for earning World Series of Poker Player of the Year honors in 2006 following four final table appearances including two gold bracelet wins.

Madsen's most recent victory earned him $384,420 and the coveted gold bracelet. Additionally, the win is the most recent in a trend of previous POYs winning gold bracelet events in 2013. Daniel Negreanu (2004) was the first, winning the WSOP Asia Pacific Main Event. He was followed by Tom Schneider (2007) who swept the H.O.R.S.E. events this year, winning two. 2008 Player of the Year, Erick Lindgren won the $5,000 No-Limit Hold'em Six-Handed event last night to become the third former POY to win a bracelet. Madsen, now the fourth, adds his name to that list as the Event 35 champion.

The 28-year-old professional poker player from Las Vegas began Day 3 with an almost-2-to-1chip lead on second place Scott Clements and never looked back. Douglas Corning from Portland finished runner-up earning $237,374

This year's $3,000 Pot Limit Omaha event drew 640 players, up 8.5% over last year's field of 589.  The uptick in participation resulted in a nice prize pool of $1,747,200. The top 72 finishers in the event all earned a payday of at least $4,927.

Notables to cash, but miss the final table include AP Phahurat (68th), Schneider (60th), Josh Arieh (58th), Phil Hellmuth (26th), Jonathan Duhamel (24th), Poker Hall of Famer Mike Sexton (16th), Ashton Griffin (13th) and recent bracelet winner Isaac Hagerling, who came just short of a second final table appearance of the summer in tenth place.

The final table included three WSOP gold bracelet winners in Jason DeWitt (9th), Clements (6th) and Madsen. Clements, who finished runner-up in the $2,500 six-handed event became the sixteenth repeat final tablist of the 2013 WSOP.
Here are the final table results for the $3,000 Pot Limit Omaha event:

1st: Jeff Madsen - $384,420
2nd: Douglas Corning - $237,374
3rd: Michael Maryska - $154,312
4th: Danny Hannawa - $113,340
5th: Scott Clements - $84,424
6th: Ryan Chapman - $63,702
7th: William Black - $48,624
8th: Joni Jouhkimainen - $37,529
9th: Jason DeWitt - $29,265

An in-depth profile and interview with the now three-time bracelet winner is available on