The Event 8 final table wasn't quite "all Michael Malm all the time", but it was when it mattered. The 29-year-old marketing specialist from Coquilam, British Columbia outlasted Steven Wolansky heads-up to become the third Canadian-born champion a the 2013 World Series of Poker. At one point, Malm found himself at worse than a seven-to-one chip disadvantage, he but persevered to win his first bracelet and $225,104 in the $2,500 Eight Game mix event.

The tournament contributed to what was an action-packed marathon of a day at the Rio All-Suite Hotel and Casino. First, the record-setting 6,343 player Millionaire Maker event concluded with fellow Canadian Benny Chen crowned champion. Then, Matthew Waxman outlasted gold bracelet champion Eric Baldwin in a nearly seven hours heads-up battle. The final event to play out, though, was Event 8.

The tournament drew 388 entrants and the $882,700 prize pool paid each of the top 40 finishers. Notables to cash include Andy Bloch (34th), Blair Rodman (27th), Joe Cassidy (24th), Josh Arieh (15th), Robert Mizrachi (14th), Chris Reslock (12th) and Chris Tryba (10th).

Joining Malm at the finale were Marco Johnson (8th) as well as gold bracelet champions Mike Wattle (7th) and Dario Alioto (6th). Two-time bracelet winner Greg Mueller continued his winning eight-game ways, final tabling this event for the second year in a row. He was unable to match his runner-up finish from 2012, finishing third, just shy of bracelet number three.  His run marks the third repeat final table appearance so far this summer, joining Ryan Olisar (re-entry event) and George Danzer ($2,500 Stud 8/Omaha 8)
Event 8 marked the first non-hold'em event of the 2013 WSOP. The championship was decided over Limit Hold'em, Omaha Hi-Low Split-8 or Better, Seven Card Razz, Seven Card Stud, Seven Card Stud Hi-Low Split-8 or Better, No-Limit Hold'em, Pot-Limit Omaha and 2-7 triple Draw Lowball.
Final table results:
1st: Michael Malm - $225,104
2nd: Steven Wolansky - $139,034
3rd: Greg Mueller - $89,673
4th: Eric Crain - $64,975
5th: Michael Hurey - $47,771
6th: Dario Alioto - $35,63
7th: Michael Wattel - $26,996
8th: Marco Johnson - $20,699

A profile and interview of the latest gold bracelet winner is available on WSOP.com