When the final day of the $1,675 buy-in Horseshoe Southern Indiana Circuit Main Event kicked off today, Dan Heimiller came into play 8th out of the final 21 players.  While he had zero Circuit cashes prior to today, his Gold Bracelet and 47 cashes at the World Series of Poker told everyone that he would be a force to be reckoned with.

He was just that.  Besting a tough final table, Heimiller scored a victory against a tough field of Circuit grinders.  Not a regular on the Circuit, Heimiller talked about playing more events in the future.

“I will definitely be playing more stops now that I've been here and played.” Heimiller said.  

One stop he will for sure be making is the New Orleans event in May.  With his victory here, Heimiller earned a seat into the WSOP Circuit National Championship, something he had wanted to do for some time.

Another player who will be joining him in New Orleans is Jonathan Taylor.  Taylor finished 2nd to Heimiller and took home $72,517. Along with the money comes the automatic seat to the National Championship as the Horseshoe Southern Indiana Casino Champion.

Taylor just edged out Aaron Massey, who won a ring and had a third place finish.  The points race came down to the wire though, as Taylor had to finish third or better in order to win the Casino Championship.  

The Horseshoe Southern Indiana Main Event saw their entrants increase from 313 in 2011 to 340 this year.  That increase in participation is a great sign for the Circuit, which moves on to one of its most popular stops of the year, Horseshoe Hammond Indiana.

The Hammond Circuit stop kicks of Thursday, October 11th with the $365 No-Limit Hold ‘em Re-Entry event. Last year, the first event at Hammond drew an amazing 3,001 players.

Until then, travel safe and see you on Thursday.

Results from the final table were as follows:

1st. Dan Heimiller  $117,300
2nd. Jonathan Taylor  $72,517
3rd. Chad Eveslage  $52,903
4th. Timothy Chang  $39,240
5th. Sean Winter  $29,560
6th. Ki Y. Kim  $22,609
7th. Joseph Worth  $17,545
8th. Charles Furey  $13,811
9th. Kevin Davis  $11,027

You can view the full results from the Main Event by clicking here.

Here is more from our latest Circuit Ring winner, Dan Heimiller: