Atlantic City, NJ (December 11, 2011) – The World Series of Poker Circuit at Harrah Atlantic City hosted its biggest Main Event Championship ever.

The $1,600 buy-in Main Event which began on Friday attracted 618 entries, surpassing the predictions of players and organizers alike.  This year’s attendance figure is the largest Main Event of any of the eight seasons played in Atlantic City.  The number represents a whopping 75 percent increase over last year’s turnout, when there were 352 players in the same buy-in tournament.

The tournament is being played over three days.  As is the case with all Main Events on this year’s 16 WSOP Circuit stops, there were two starting flights.  The first playing session lasted from noon until 6 pm.  The second session played from 7 pm until 1 pm.  All Day One survivors returned to Day Two, played on Sunday.  Day Three, which includes the final table, will be played and will finish on Monday.  Here are the chip counts entering the final session.
Table Seat Last Name First Name Chip Count City/State
52 3 Tuan Phan 1,060,000 Fairfax, VA
83 9 Mike Devinsky 1,032,000 Middletown, NJ
62 6 Manh Nguyen 947,000 Pittsburgh, PA
83 6 Jeff Fielder 911,000 Des Moines, IA
52 8 Anthony Zinno 856,000 Boston, MA
83 8 Larry Riggs 846,000 Maysville, NC
52 9 Ken Taylor 754,000 Strondsburg, PA
83 7 Hao Le 705,000 Arlington, VA
62 1 Hung Truong 692,000 Brooklyn, NY
52 4 Spiros Stathakis 687,000 Astoria, NY
52 7 Roy Marc-Andre 672,000 NA
83 1 Avdo Djokovic 609,000 Staten Island, NY
83 4 Jimmy Born 510,000 NA
62 9 Jason Steinhorn 414,000 Atlanta, GA
52 7 Denis Gnidash 391,000 Fair Lawn, NJ
62 3 Daniel Rohde 352,000 New York, NY
52 6 Steve Karp 302,000 N. Miami Beach, FL
83 3 Kevin Kaikko 288,000 Lakewood, NJ
NA NA Blake Mason 194,000 Chevy Chase, MD
62 4 Craig Logue 185,000 Richmond, VA

The new Harrah’s Atlantic City champion will collect $188,830 in prize money.  The top 63 finishers will be paid, from a prize pool totaling $899,190.

To follow the action, please visit LIVE UPDATES here.

Final table action will be streamed from start to finish with a five-minute delay at WSOP.com.  Play is expected to begin during the late afternoon and run most of the night.

This is the tenth gold ring event of 12 tournament on the Atlantic City schedule.  Two more gold ring events remain and will also be completed on Monday.

WSOP Circuit Gold Ring Winners at Harrah’s Atlantic City:

Event 1:  Richard Smith (Warrenton, VA) defeated 704 players and won $41,995
Event 2:  Jeffrey Gurfinkel (Brooklyn, NY) defeated 888 players and won $50,446
Event 3:  Michael Linster (Levittown, NY) defeated 288 players and won $35,529
Event 4:  Jeffrey Manns (Philadelphia, PA) defeated 555 players and won $33,922
Event 5:  Peter Ippolito (East Meadow, NY) defeated 370 players and won $37,926
Event 6:  Jeremy Burleson (Charlotte, NC) defeated 428 players and won $28,646
Event 7:  Ryan Hall (Newark, DE) defeated 292 players and won $33,989
Event 8:  M. Rosenberg (Atlantic City, NJ) defeated 187 players and won $14,148
Event 9:  Richard Ward (Max Meadows, VA) defeated 195 players and won $49,178