Jason DeWitt Wins WSOP Gold Bracelet in Event 17

Jason DeWitt was the winner of the $5,000 buy-in No-Limit Hold’em event at the 2010 World Series of Poker.  This marked his first career WSOP gold bracelet victory.

DeWitt is from Granger, IN.  He is a poker pro with seven WSOP in-the-money finishes on his blossoming resume, including at least one cash in each of the last five years at the WSOP.
DeWitt, who came in second-place in the WSOP No-Limit Hold’em Triple Chance event last year, collected a whopping $818,959 for first place.  The huge payout was fitting given the heavy odds stacked against DeWitt when play began three days earlier.  DeWitt conquered a massive field size of 792 players en route to his biggest poker win ever.

The runner up was Samuel Trickett, from Great Britain.  Trickett barely missed becoming the third WSOP gold bracelet winner from the U.K. this year.

This was the largest $5,000 buy-in No-Limit Hold’em tournament in WSOP history. Tournament attendance increased by 21 percent over last year.  In 2009, there were 655 entries.

The top 72 finishers collected prize money.  Former WSOP gold bracelet finishers who cashed in this event included – Perry Friedman (10th), Antonio “the Magician” Esfandiari (12th), Josh Arieh (26th, Ted Lawson (39th), Chau Giang (41st), Lisa Hamilton (46th), Phil Hellmuth (50th), Vitaly Lunkin (65th), and Annette Obrestad ((72nd).

A few other notables:

With his 41st-place finish in this tournament, Chau Giang cashed for the second time this year and moved one spot ahead of John Juanda into sole possession of eighth place on the all-time WSOP cashes list.

With his 50th-place finish in this tournament, Phil Hellmuth cashed for the second time this year and remains in first place as the all-time WSOP cashes leader – with 77.  He is currently ten cashes ahead of Men ‘the Master” Nguyen, who ranks second.

Annette Obrestad, who is the youngest WSOP gold bracelet winner in history, cashed for the first time on U.S. soil, finishing 72nd. Obrestad turned 21 (legal age to play) this year. Obrestad was 18-years-old when she won the inaugural championship at WSOP Europe in 2007.

A full report of this event will be posted shortly.

For official tournament results and additional details, please CLICK HERE.