Shawn Busse Wins WSOP Gold Bracelet in Event 47
NEWS FLASH:  Shawn Busse Wins WSOP Gold Bracelet in Event 47
21-Year-Old Poker Pro Wins No-Limit Hold’em Championship
Shawn Busse was the winner of the $1,000 buy-in No-Limit Hold’em championship at the 2010 World Series of Poker.  He is a 21-year-old poker pro from Massapequa, NY.  This marked his first time to cash at the WSOP.  Busse collected $485,791 in prize money.
The runner up was Owen Crowe, from Canada who cashed for the eighth time at the WSOP.  Crowe’s most notable previous achievement was a 15th-place finish in the 2008 WSOP Main Event championship.  He collected a nice consolation prize amounting to $300,494.

This tournament had special meaning because it was played in memory of former gold bracelet winner Amir Vahedi, who won this event in 2003.  Vahedi, famous for his smile, his wit, and his trademark cigar, passed away late last year.  To remember Vahedi, the WSOP presented the winner of this tournament with a box of the late champion’s favorite cigars – Saint Luis Rey Rothchilde.

The top 324 finishers collected prize money.  Aside from those who made the final table, former WSOP gold bracelet finishers who cashed in this event included – Scott Montgomery (29th), Antonio Esfandiari (73rd), Peter Traply (75th), Simon Watt (118th), Mickey Appleman (156th), Jeff Madsen (200), David Sklansky (247th), and Al Krux (276th).

A full report of this event will be posted shortly.

For official tournament results and additional details, please CLICK HERE.