2023/24 WSOP Circuit - Harrah's Cherokee (North Carolina)

Friday, February 23, 2024 to Sunday, February 25, 2024

WSOPC Event #12: $1,700 MAIN EVENT

download official winner photo
  • Buy-in: $1,700
  • Prizepool: $2,513,385
  • Entries: 1,659
  • Remaining: 0


Monday, June 22, 2015 9:08 PM Local Time
History of the Poker Players Championship; 2013 - Matthew Ashton

A monster increase of entrants occurred in 2013 as 132 players took to the felt - an increase of 24 - as a prizepool of $6,336,000 was created.

Joe Cassidy, Gary Benson, Tommy Hang, Bryn Kenney, Huck Seed and Michael Glick all reached the money before Mike Gorodinsky was bounced to the rail on the final table bubble when in Pot-Limit Omaha on a board of     , Gorodinsky was all in holding      against David Benyamine's     . The river bricked with the   and Don Nguyen would take the chip lead into the final table.

2010 Main Event Champion Jonathan Duhamel was eliminated on the fourth hand of the final table before Mike Wattle and Minh Ly followed him shortly after. Soon after, George Danzer hit the rail as the final four battled for over three hours before Benyamine would be eliminated. Matthew Ashton would take a big lead and never relinquish the pressure as John Hennigan would fall in 3rd as Ashton would finish off Nguyen in second when both players flopped top pair with Ashton's kicker outdoing Nguyen.

For Ashton it was his fourth final table of the series, but this one would be the sweetest as he captured his first WSOP bracelet and $1,774,089 in prize money.

Place Player Country Prize
1st Matthew Ashton
UK $1,774,089
2nd Don Nguyen USA $1,096,254
3rd John Hennigan
USA $686,568
David Benyamine
France $497,122
5th George Danzer
Germany $388,523
6th Minh Ly
UK $309,830
7th Mike Wattel
USA $251,602
8th Jonathan Duhamel
Canada $207,630
Share & Connect