2023/24 WSOP Circuit - Commerce Casino (Los Angeles, CA)

Thursday, May 16, 2024 to Saturday, May 18, 2024

WSOPC Event #8: $1,700 MAIN EVENT

download official winner photo
  • Buy-in: $1,700
  • Prizepool: $2,222,505
  • Entries: 1,467
  • Remaining: 0


Friday, February 13, 2015 8:32 PM Local Time
Day 1A Recap

Day 1A of the WSOP Circuit Main Event at the Palm Beach Kennel Club is complete, and the chip leader is Barry Hutter (pictured), who already has one Circuit ring on his poker resume.

A total of 289 entries turned out for Day 1A, and after 15 levels of play, only 51 remained. They’re led by Hutter with 310,000 in chips. Behind him are Daren Stabinski (285,000) and Anthony Spinola (266,500). No one else has more than 250,000.

It was a tough and talented field in the tournament room today. Players taking their seats today include two-time WSOP bracelet winner Jason Mercier, Mukul Pahuja (who won the Circuit Main Event in Atlantic City in December, among his other poker accomplishments), seven-time ring winner Ari Engel, and Mark Dube, who finished second in a WPT event just a few days ago.

Judging from Day 1A, day 2 will have a tough field as well. Players who advanced today include Pahuja (69,500 in chips), bracelet winner Leo Wolpert (102,000), Joe Kuether (187,000), Matt Stout (145,000), Mercier (29,500), and WSOP Circuit points leader Paul Sokoloff (103,000).

Among the players who took their seats today but were unable to advance are Engel, Dube, Chris Conrad, Nancy Birnbaum, John Holley, Natasha Barbour, Jean “Prince” Gaspard, and bracelet winner Greg Kolo, many of whom will likely return for Day 1B.

Surviving players will return on Sunday at noon for Day 2. They’ll be joined by anyone who survives tomorrow’s Day 1B, which starts here at 11 a.m.

Here are the top ten chip counts after Day 1A. Full counts are available in the “Reports” tab, above.

Barry Hutter – 310,000
Daren Stabinski – 285,000
Anthony Spinola – 266,500
James Salmon – 244,500
David Dowdy – 240,000
David Nowling – 235,000
Victor Figueroa – 212,500
Joe Kuether – 187,000
Mark Fisher – 152,500
Jonathan Gaviao – 148,000

Share & Connect