2020 51st Annual World Series of Poker The Official WSOP Live Updates

Wednesday, December 30, 2020 to Wednesday, December 30, 2020

RIO - $10,000 No-Limit Hold'em MAIN EVENT - World Championship

  • Buy-in: $10,000
  • Prizepool: tbd
  • Entries: tbd
  • Remaining: 1


Thursday, June 23, 2016 9:00 PM Local Time
Day 2 Ends with 8 Players Still Vying for Title, Matt Matros Leads

2015 World Series of Poker Main Event Champion Joe McKeehen second in chips

After ten levels of play there are just eight players remaining in Event #38 $3,000 6-Handed Limit Hold'em. Leading the way is three-time bracelet winner Matt Matros (978,000) with 2015 Main Event Champion Joe McKeehen (825,000) close behind.

Meanwhile, Mikhail Semin (302,000) is in a position to make his fourth final table of the 2016 World Series of Poker, and Brad Libson is aiming for his fourth career final table. Alex Queen is also aiming for a high finish in the Limit equivalent of the Event #21: $3,000 No Limit Hold'em, in which he finished sixth.

With 67 players returning after Day 1, and the money bubble rapidly approaching, there were bound to be some disappointed players. Ronnie Bardah, Sam Greenwood, Alexey Makarov, Scott Griffiths and Felipe Ramos were among the players to leave empty handed, as they fell short of the $4,578 min-cash for 37th place. 

The unfortunate bubble boy was Brendan Taylor whose    was no match for Joe McKeehen's    on a       board, and he exited in 38th.

Following the bubble, the eliminations trickled in at a steady pace and included Jonathan Duhamel (34th - $4,578), Day 1 Chip Leader Warwick Mirzikinian (32nd $4,578), Christopher Vitch (29th - $5,262), Jeff Lissandro (28th - $5,262), Terrence Chan (26th - $5,262), Ylon Schwartz (23rd - $6,243), Jason Somerville (17th - $7,368), Ian Johns (14th - $7,638), and Rep Porter (9th - $12,489).

Players will return at 2 p.m. tomorrow with eight players left all vying for first place and the $169,337 prize money and gold bracelet. Updates will continue as players get closer and closer towards that goal.

Chip Counts

1. Matt Matros - 978,000
2. Joe McKeehen - 825,000
3. Georgios Zisimopoulos - 788,000
4. Mikhail Semin - 302,000
5. Alex Queen - 243,000
6. Andrey Zhigalov - 195,000
7. Brad Libson - 178,000
8. Rafael Lebron - 167,000

Share & Connect