WSOP | 2017 | Global Casino Championship
2017 Global Championships

Global Casino Championship 2017 - WSOP Circuit

At the conclusion of the 13th season of the World Series of Poker Circuit, the Global Casino Championship returns once again to Harrah’s Cherokee Casino Resort in beautiful North Carolina near the Great Smoky Mountains. This is the third consecutive year Harrah’s Cherokee will host the event.

Championship Dates & Text Updates

The tournament is scheduled for August 8-10, 2017, and the final table will be filmed to broadcast at a later date. As the cameras roll, a minimum prize pool of $1,000,000 and a WSOP bracelet will be up for grabs.

Once again, the Global Casino Championship represents both the culmination of the 2016/2017 Circuit year and the kickoff of the following season. The first Circuit stop of the 2017/2018 season will be held at Harrah’s Cherokee from August 2 through August 16, and the Global Casino Championship will fall right in the middle. The full Circuit stop will host the standard 12 ring events, including a $1,675 Main Event, as players can begin the qualification process for next season.


Who qualifies for the Global Casino Championship?

The Global Casino Championship is an exclusive, invitation-only tournament. There is a minimum prize pool of $1,000,000, and a number of players receive free entries. For each Circuit stop this season, the Main Event winner and the Casino Champion each receive a free seat. In addition, the top 50 players on the season leaderboard (domestic US tour only) earn free entries. With 14 international and 22 US stops, there will be up to 122 free qualifiers.

Players who earn automatic entries will receive accommodations for three nights at Harrah's Cherokee (four for international qualifiers), plus an additional night if they make the final table. They'll also receive a $500 travel stipend.

In addition to the automatic entries, a select group of players has the option to buy in for $10,000 (rake free). The top 100 players on the 2016 WSOP Player of the Year leaderboard has the right to buy in, and any Circuit ring winner from this past season has the option as well.

Players who have qualified for free seats will be contacted directly by WSOP. If you are one of the 100 qualifiers but have not heard from WSOP staff, please contact Simone Ricci at


The 2017 Global Casino Championship begins on Tuesday, August 8 and noon. Day 2 will be the following day, and the final table will be held on Thursday, August 10.

Previous Champions

Here is the full list of previous Global Casino Championship / National Championship winners:

2016 Said El Yousfi $343,256
2015 Loni Harwood $341,599
2014 Dominik Nitsche $335,659
2013 Jonathan Hilton $355,599
2012 Ryan Eriquezzo $416,051
2011 Sam Barnhart $300,000

Stay Connected

There are several ways for you to stay connected to the WSOP. To get timely updates, special offers and the latest news and information on the latest Annual WSOP, please sign up for the following: