November 21, 2015 - 02:22:35 PM EST  | 


The Main Event began Friday at the Planet Hollywood Circuit, and it continued Saturday with Day 1B.

In both flights combined, there were 1,304 players, and 241 advance to Day 2.

Andrew Crookston (pictured) led Day 1B with 269,500 in chips. However, the overall chip leader is Maurice Hawkins, who bagged 345,000 on Day 1A.

Also advancing are Dutch Boyd, Jake Schindler, Dan Heimiller, Cord Garcia, Charles "Woody" Moore, Kathy Liebert, David Miscikowski, Ralph Massey, Aaron Massey, and former WSOP Main Event champions Carlos Mortensen and Ryan Riess.

Click here for a full list of advancing players and their chip counts.

Day 2 begins Sunday at Noon.

  • Day 2 is scheduled for 10, hour-long levels.
  • There will be a dinner break after the sixth level, and breaks after every two hours of play.
  • Players who advance to Day 3 will return on Monday to play to a winner.

Also Saturday, Event #14: $365 No-Limit Hold'em began. The event will play to its conclusion on Monday.


With eight events complete, the current leader in the Casino Champion race is Jon Lactaoen, with 70 points. Lactaoen has three cashes, including two final tables, so far here at Planet Hollywood.

Click the button below for a full Casino Champion leaderboard.


A Look Back:

Here are winners from ring events so far:

  • Brandon West won $580 No-Limit Hold'em Re-entry for $106,030
  • Jason Schwartz won $365 No-Limit Hold'em for $12,095
  • AJ Thompson won $365 No-Limit Hold'em Turbo for $10,866
  • Rick Austin won $365 No-Limit Hold'em for $19,875
  • Jim Juvancic won $365 Pot-Limit Omaha for $10,801
  • Brian Shugart won $580 No-Limit Hold'em for $27,253
  • Venkataramana Ganne won $365 Monster Stack No-Limit Hold'em for $38,874.
  • Cory Waaland won $365 No-Limit Hold'em for $21,571.



Share & Connect   

Robert Kirschen – Managing Editor

About the author: Robert Kirschen is the Managing Editor of He oversees the news, recaps, and other information on the World Series website, and spends much of his time on the road at WSOP Circuit events. He has been writing for the World Series of Poker since 2013.
Connect with the author viaGoogle+